Costa Tapped for Communication Post, Associate Department Directors Recommended
Australian delegate sends recommendations back to Nominating Committee

By Arin Gencer, Adventist News NetworkDelegates of the fifty-ninth General Conference session of the Seventh-day Adventist Church voted June 29 to appoint Williams S. Costa, Jr., as director of the world church’s Communication department. He replaces Rajmund Dabrowski, who served in that post since 1994.

Delegates also received the names of 10 nominees for various associate director positions, but a delegate recommended the list be sent back to the nominating committee, postponing a vote on it.

Costa, who has been associate communication director since 2007, previously served in the South American region as television production manager, director of Adventist satellite television, and communication department director.

The nominees for associate director of the General Conference departments are:
  • Children’s Ministries: Saustin K. Mfune, president of the Malawi Union, who has served in youth and children’s ministries in various capacities.
  • Adventist Chaplaincy Ministries: Mario E. Ceballos, who has been associate director for Chaplaincy Ministries since 2008.
  • Women’s Ministries: Raquel Arrais, the incumbent, who has been associate director for Women’s Ministries since 2005.
  • Sabbath School and Personal Ministries: Gary Swanson, the incumbent since 2005.
  • Health Ministries: Dr. Kathleen Kuntaraf, incumbent since 1996; and Dr. Peter Landless, who has served in the post since 2000. The committee also nominated Fred Hardinge, a registered dietitian who has served as an associate health ministries director in the Upper Columbia Conference and helped launch
  • Publishing Department: Wilmar Hirle, incumbent since 2005.
  • Department of Public Affairs and Religious Liberty: Barry Bussey, incumbent since 2009; and James Standish, incumbent since 2003.

Copyright © 2018, Adventist Review. All rights reserved worldwide. Online Editor: Carlos Medley.
SiteMap. Powered by © 2002-2018. User Login / Customize.