The beliefs and sentiments expressed by those whose letters appear here are not necessarily shared by the Adventist Review or its editorial staff. These letters have been edited for clarity and length. -- Editors

Climbing Higher
David Asscherick’s article “Reaching the Summit” (June 23, 2011) was the most beautiful, eye-opening, and thoughtful piece written for our blessing. Having read the Beatitudes so many times--as I’m sure every Christian has--I never recognized the progression as clearly as it was explained. Thank you.

--Marlene Smith
Naples, Florida



Problems, and God’s Solutions
I read “Life Interrupted” (June 23, 2011) and laughed out loud. I’m glad I didn’t have to face the problems Peter Landless had to face. I am quite certain my responses would have been different, and not because of conscience.
God lets the trials come to those who can weather them, and I have thanked Him many times that He did not let me get in over my head with certain types of problems. I generated enough on my own.

--Stanley Murphy
Zephyrhills, Florida



Living It Up
Kimberly Luste Maran’s editorial “Live Up to the Billing” (June 23, 2011) makes an important point for our media people to consider. At some point people who see our message on the Internet, radio, TV, or billboard will actually come into contact with one or more persons of the Seventh-day Adventist Church (perhaps a whole churchful).

So are the people in the Seventh-day Adventist Church living up to the descriptions being presented to/in the media by our media? Are media personnel presenting an accurate picture of the people in the Seventh-day Adventist Church?

Maran was apparently uncomfortable about telling her friend (a former Seventh-day Adventist) about four churches in the friend’s community because she was afraid of the welcome her friend would receive.

--Jim Garber
Dayton Ohio



History Matters
The June 9 and 16 issues of Adventist Review have many good articles. “Why Our History Matters” was long overdue. David Trim did a superb job. The question is: Do we want a balanced Seventh-day Adventist witnessing life? Then we should study Adventist history.

Over the years I’ve done some volunteer work with Adventist Heritage Ministry (AHM) at Historic Adventist Village in Battle Creek, Michigan, and at the William Miller farm in Low Hampton, New York. I’ve often asked myself as I worked around these sites what the stones would say if they could speak.

In September and October 2011 volunteers will be working around the Miller farm to improve the view around Ascension Rock. Even though Miller was never a Seventh-day Adventist, Ellen White wrote about him: “But angels watch the precious dust of this servant of God, and he will come forth at the sound of the last trump” (Early Writings, p. 258).

--William Zelenak
Greensboro, North Carolina



David Trim is correct in “Stones of Meaning” (June 16, 2011) when he says: “We have forgotten the way the Lord has led us.” However, he is incorrect in saying that “our entire reason for existence revolves around looking forward” to the second coming of Jesus.
Ellen White wrote: “God has thrust His people into the gap, to make up the hedge, to raise up the foundation of many generations” (Selected Messages, book 2, p. 373).

As important as is “the blessed hope,” it is even more important to draw attention, in a polite way, to the “man of sin” and the breech of God’s law made by him. This is the primary reason the Seventh-day Adventist Church was raised up: to stand in the gap, repair the breech, and draw attention to the only commandment of the 10 that Ellen White saw surrounded with a halo of light.

--Howard Loewen
Berrien Springs, Michigan



David Trim made a good point that we have to remember our past. Wouldn’t it be a blessing to us all if he would do a short article for every edition of the Review? If we ever had to be reminded of our past, it is now. Short, succinct stories will be read and remembered. Perfect for the back page.

“How Love Looks,” by our dear friend Dane Griffin (June 16, 2011) is a good example. For those of us who like to save certain articles, the back page is the perfect place. Please!

--Ethel F. Heisler
Dallas, Oregon



I greatly enjoyed David Trim’s article “Stones of Meaning: Why History Matters” (June 9, 2011). I don’t know how many parts are planned, but as you begin with sacred history, I hope you will not neglect contemporary history.

Heilsgeschichte is German for “salvation history.” While historical catalogs of God’s saving acts are found in both Testaments, Ellen White wrote: “Those who study the history of the Israelites should also consider the history of the slaves in America, who have suffered” (The Southern Work, p. 42). As Charles Bradford was fond of saying, Ellen White makes Black history part of salvation history. The prejudices Black people experienced, and the survival tactics they exemplified, are vitally instructive for all God’s people today, “upon whom the ends of the world are come” (1 Cor. 10:11, KJV).

--Jeffrey O. Brown
Bermuda



Faithful Fathers
If you’re a father, and still married after 20 years, you belong to “A Dying Species” (June 16, 2011). Is Gerald Klingbeil bragging or complaining?

Yes, fathers have been “slipping off the screen,” not only in contemporary society, but also in the church. They will continue to do so as long as we allow marriage to be treated as a mere civil contract.

--Jonathan Wilson
Dunlap, Tennessee



When We Talk
Regarding “Conflict and Communication,” by Ekkehardt Mueller (June 16, 2011):

Conversation is you speak, I listen; I speak, you listen. Whether we agree is beside the point. That we have varying viewpoints does not make one of us wrong, just not the same as the other.

That we do not agree does not bring me anger unless I am selfish (and vice versa). Ever looked at light through a diamond? Not one shaft of color is exactly like the others, yet they are all still part of the spectrum. “Thus saith the Lord” is absolute; “thus saith me” is not.

Communication is conversation between loving hearts with a combined purpose to accomplish: “Love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another” (John 13:34, KJV).

--Gloria F. Parker
Gadsden, Alabama





Copyright © 2017, Adventist Review. All rights reserved worldwide. Online Editor: Carlos Medley.
SiteMap. Powered by SimpleUpdates.com © 2002-2017. User Login / Customize.